Quiz bowl results and winners

Quiz Bowl
Winners of the 2006-2007 Quiz Bowl from Northern Vance High School

Congratulations to Northern Vance High School, and all the participants and supporters of Public Library Quiz Bowl 2006-2007.

The local competition took place for the first time in Perry Library’s new Meeting Room Wednesday, January 24, at 7:00 p.m. After three tense introductory rounds, Northern Vance took the lead and won by a landslide in the final round, thereby winning the engraved plaque, Winner trophy, a pizza party sponsored by Perry Library, and the honor of representing Vance County at the District Quiz Bowl competition on March 17.

Kerr Vance Academy and Southern Vance fielded talented and determined teams, coached by Jim Davis and Chailee Mann-Stadt respectively, and should be very proud of the accomplishments represented by the participant trophies they took back to their schools.

Northern Vance’s winning team was coached by Susan Shearin and included Wilton Baskett II, Samantha Bolton, Samantha Gordon, Gregory Grissom, Kevin Harris, Gill Frazier, Cayton King, and Christian Lowery. Alternate team members were Jennifer Allen, Brianne Curry, Erica Mata, Emily Woodard, Athena Duke, D’Juan Jones, Chip Rotolo, and Andrew Pierce. Only four of the formidable Northern Vance team were available at the competition: those four, who carried the night for Northern, were Wilton Baskett II, Gregory Grissom, Andrew Pierce, and Kevin Harris.

Quiz Bowl
Kerr-Vance Academy’s 2006-2007 Quiz Bowl Team

Kerr Vance Academy’s team included: Will Bowen, Craig Burnham, Davis Harper, Kevin Gillert, Jessica Abbott, Libby Hartness, Sarah Elliott, Mary Hannah Ross (not present), and Kevin Bell.

Quiz Bowl
Southern Vance High School’s 2006-2007 Quiz Bowl Team

Southern Vance’s team were: Walter Alston (alternate), Thomas Boyd, Taylor Chappell (alternate), Brian Griffin, Marlene Hernandez, Tabitha Hudgeons, Alicia Hurd, Ashley Junk, Lanair Lett, and Ariel Zackery.

Public Library Quiz Bowl is made possible through the efforts of many people in the community. Volunteers serve as judges, moderators, scorekeepers, and timekeeper, and local businesses, civic clubs, and schools contribute very generously in a variety of ways.

Thank you to all our officials, particularly moderator Nick Long, judges Alesia Stevenson, Rita Smith, and Steve McGrady, timekeeper Andrew Beal, scorekeepers Marion Perry and Jo Cawthorne, and rotation authority Dasie Roberts. A special thank you to our local supporters: the Coca Cola Bottling Company, the Friends of the Library, the Henderson Daily Dispatch, Home in Henderson, Kerr Vance Academy, Papa John’s Pizza, Stems and Petals (Tony Griffin, Designer), Subway, Screen Masters, and Vance County Schools.