Student Spotlight Award Winners Honored

A total of 17 Vance County Schools students, who everyday display good character and compassion for others and who are committed to making the most of their educational opportunities, were honored during the evening of May 21 at the “Student Spotlight” banquet held at the Henderson Country Club.

Approximately 150 family members, school system administrators, local educators and local community leaders, attended the event to honor each of the award-winning students.

Jason Brown, a graduate of Northern Vance High School who went on to star in the National Football League, was the featured speaker for the event. He gave a passionate address to the students and guests that focused on overcoming personal obstacles and working hard to achieve your goals.

The banquet was presented by the staff of The Daily Dispatch, the newspaper in Henderson. Nancy Wykle, publisher of the newspaper, led the proceedings. The Daily Dispatch is the leading sponsor of the “Student Spotlight” recognition program, along with Vance County Schools. Additional sponsors for the program include: the Vance County Public School Foundation; Prim Development and Residential Rentals; Mako Medical Laboratories; and the Henderson Kiwanis Club.

Those who helped to fund the banquet are Duke Energy, Greystone Concrete Products Inc., H.G. Reynolds Inc., Judge Randolph Baskerville and Vance-Granville Community College.

Those students honored as “Student Spotlight” award winners for 2017-2018 included:

  • Tanner Abbott, a third grader at Aycock Elementary School
  • Madonna Baselios, an 11th grader at Southern Vance High School
  • Kwaji Bullock, a 12th grader at Northern Vance High School
  • Christian Castillo, a seventh grader at Henderson Middle School
  • La’Tina Crute, a fifth grader at Pinkston Street Elementary School
  • Catherine Cruz-Ochoa, a fourth grader at Carver Elementary School
  • Emani Foster, a 10th grader at Early College High School
  • Jordan Glover, a sixth grader at Eaton-Johnson Middle School
  • Eyana Hargrove, a 12th grader at AdVance Academy
  • Ja’Quavious Harris, a fourth grader at Zeb Vance Elementary School
  • Jordon Hester, a third grader at Clarke Elementary School
  • LaKaiyah Miller, a fourth grader at New Hope Elementary School
  • Angela Ponce, a third grader at E.O. Young, Jr. Elementary School
  • Omar Saleh, a fourth grader at E.M. Rollins Elementary School
  • Isreal Terry, a seventh grader at STEM Early High School
  • Carley Walthall, a fourth grader at Dabney Elementary School
  • Jeremiah Williams, a fourth grader at L.B. Yancey Elementary School
Image Information: "Student Spotlight" award winners are shown and include, first row from left, Omar Saleh, Tanner Abbott, Jordan Glover, Jeremiah Williams, Catherine Cruz-Ochoa, Carley Walthall and Angela Ponce. On the second row from left, are LaKaiyah Miller, Jordon Hester, Christian Castillo, Eyana Hargrove, Emani Foster, Ja'Quavious Harris, La'Tina Crute, Kwaji Bullock and Madonna Baselios.