School System Honors Retirees

Vance County Schools district officials, school administrators, educators and family and friends honored 36 outstanding associates who are retiring from their positions with the school system during the Annual Retirement Banquet held on Wednesday, June 13, in McGregor Hall Gallery in downtown Henderson.

Each of the honorees were presented with gifts from the school system by Darlynn Oxendine, chairwoman of the Vance County Board of Education, and Dr. Anthony Jackson, superintendent of Vance County Schools.

Dr. Trixie Brooks, assistant superintendent for Instructional Services, was the event’s featured speaker. She praised each of the retiring educators and encouraged all of them to enjoy their retirement after giving so much of their time and talents to local students and colleagues during their careers with Vance County Schools.

Vivian Bullock, who retired from the school system in 2017, provided a very inspirational message from a retiree’s prospective for all of those being recognized. She spelled out 12 priorities that each of them should follow as they enter retirement. Her advice especially focused on being sure they have lots of leisurely time for themselves and quality time with their families.

Rachel Bradshaw, music teacher at New Hope and Carver elementary schools, sang and played several musical selections on keyboards during the evening. The Rev. David Pate, pastor of Tabernacle United Methodist Church, provided the invocation for the evening.

Superintendent Anthony Jackson gave closing remarks and he thanked each of the retirees for their service with the school system and wished them all the very best for their futures.

The retirees held a wide range of positions with the school system including, teachers, school administrators, administrative assistants, teacher assistants, counselors, school nurses, maintenance personnel, custodians, bookkeepers, data managers, school nutrition personnel and media specialists.

Those retiring and honored were Consuelo Allen of L.B. Yancey Elementary School; April Andrews of Zeb Vance Elementary School; Diane Averett of Carver Elementary School; Sharon Bawcum, administrative assistant to the superintendent; Debora Blackwell of Clarke Elementary School; Paula Boston of Early College High School; Rebecca Burns of Henderson Middle School; Dr. Priscilla Chavis-Lockley of Eaton-Johnson Middle School; Annette Cobb of Northern Vance High School; Cheryl Coplin of Henderson Middle School; Kathy Faulkner of Aycock Elementary School; James Faulkner of Maintenance; Marie Fields of New Hope Elementary School; Willie Fuller of Northern Vance High School; Elizabeth Gremmels of Southern Vance High School; Linda Grissom of Henderson Middle School; Patricia Hight of Eaton-Johnson Middle School; Andrew Hill of Zeb Vance Elementary School; Pam Jackson of New Hope Elementary School; Manuel Jeffers of Zeb Vance Elementary School; Shirley Jefferson of Northern Vance High School; Sylvia Jefferson of New Hope Elementary School; Constance Johnson of Northern Vance High School; Agnes Jover of Northern Vance High School; Joseph McMahon of Eaton-Johnson Middle School; Nancy Paynter of Zeb Vance Elementary School; Ruth Reid of Pinkston Street Elementary School; Carol Shockley of Dabney Elementary School; Patricia Twisdale of Dabney Elementary School; Jan Vaughan of Aycock Elementary School; Marjorie Watkins of Northern Vance High School; Bonita Williams of Clarke Elementary School; Phyllis Williams of Eaton-Johnson Middle School; Robin Wilson of New Hope Elementary School; Ruth Wilson of Career and Technical Education; and Ian Willis of STEM Early High School.

Those attending the event are shown in the accompanying photo.